Landmarks and historic districts

You can explore more that 175 landmarks and 18 historic districts in Minneapolis.


The City of Minneapolis uses the designation landmark to honor, preserve and protect buildings or areas that represent and reflect an aspect of our heritage:

  • Cultural
  • Social
  • Economic
  • Political
  • Architectural
  • Design

Heritage Preservation Commission

The Heritage Preservation Commission protects historic resources from Minneapolis' past.

Read about the commission

Landmarks and historic districts map

See a map of the City's landmarks and historic districts.

Contact us

Community Planning & Economic Development

Historic Preservation




Public Service Center
505 Fourth Ave. S., Room 320
Minneapolis, MN 55415