Keyes House

You can read about the history and designation of the Keyes House historic landmark.



Circa 1910



Address: 2225 East Lake of the Isles Parkway

Neighborhood: East Isles

Construction Date: 1904

Contractor: Unknown

Architect: Adam Lansing Dorr

Architectural Style: Craftsman/Queen Anne transitional

Historic Use: Residential – Single Family Dwelling

Current Use: Residential – Single Family Dwelling

Date of Local Designation: 1998

Date of National Register Designation: N/A

Area(s) of Significance: Master Architect, Social History

Period of Significance: 1904-1955

Historic Profile: In 1904 when the Keyes House was built, the area surrounding Lake of the Isles was a remote, wooded area. Charles Keyes and his wife Ruth chose Minneapolis architect Adam Lansing Dorr to complete their design. Dorr, one of the most prolific architects of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries in Minneapolis, chose a blend of Queen Anne and Craftsman architecture for the Keyes House. Charles and Ruth Keyes were active civic leaders in Minneapolis for many years, involved in Tax Payers Associations and the Sanitary Commission. Charles also served on the Parents and Teachers Council, the Citizens Committee on Public Health and the University of Minnesota Alumni Association. In commemoration of the active lives of the Keyes family, as well as the association with Adam Lansing Dorr, the residence on Lake of the Isles is designated.

Photo Credits:

Circa 1910, Portrait of Charles Frederick Keyes, Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission

2006, Minneapolis CPED

Updated: February 2007

Contact us

Community Planning & Economic Development

Historic Preservation




Public Service Center
505 Fourth Ave. S., Room 320
Minneapolis, MN 55415