Heritage preservation

Information about the heritage preservation in Minneapolis.

Landmarks and historic districts enhance the city’s unique identity, quality of life, and economic vitality. The community's interest in preservation has resulted in 175 landmarks and 18 historic districts.

See the landmarks & historic districts map

Our Community Planning & Economic Development (CPED) staff works with the Heritage Preservation Commission to review requests about designated landmark properties and historic resources for:

  • Rehabilitation
  • Repair
  • New construction
  • Demolition

CPED staff and the Heritage Preservation Commission also:

  • Conduct ongoing research of eligible sites and districts
  • Evaluate the significance of buildings and districts
  • Recommend the designation of historic properties

See the Heritage Preservation Commission

The Mill City Museum is located in the St. Anthony Falls Historic District. Photo courtesy of Meet Minneapolis.

Landmarks and historic districts

Minneapolis has more that 175 landmarks and 18 historic districts.

Contact us

Community Planning & Economic Development

Historic Preservation




Public Service Center
505 Fourth Ave. S., Room 320
Minneapolis, MN 55415