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Minneapolis Fire Inspection Services 
Smoke Control Systems 

Permit and Drawing Requirements 
 

 
Permits Required 
A permit is required when work involves the installation, replacement, removal, or exchange of 
components of a fire safety system.  A permit is NOT required to inspect, test or perform 
preventive maintenance. 

Drawings Required 
Drawings are required for new installations, and alterations to existing systems, etc. 

License Required 
Work involving sheetmetal, refrigeration, and heating is to be done by a Minneapolis licensed 
contractor. 

Design and Installation Standards 
The design is to comply with the Minnesota State Fire Code (MSFC), Minnesota State Building 
Code (MSBC), applicable NFPA Standards (or other FIS approved standards) and FIS Policies.  
Refer to FIS Policy #9-9 for design, special inspection and testing requirements. 

Drawing Qualities and Required Information 
- Provide all the information that is required by NFPA Standards and by FIS Policy #9-9. 

Permit Application 
- The “Fire Safety Systems Permit Form” must be completely filled out and submitted. 
- The permit fee is to accompany the application. 
- The permit fee is a flat fee based on an assumed contract price. The fee for a smoke control 

system is $650.00. 

EXAMPLE of Fee Section of Permit Application 
The permit fee is based on an assumed cost of approximately $16,000.00 for the smoke control 
portion of the mechanical system and a flat fee of $650.00 covers both the base fee and the plan 
review fee.  Enter 0 on line B and enter 0 on line C.  The flat fee for a smoke control system is 
$650.00, enter on line D.  Add lines B, C & D to determine the subtotal fee, enter on line E.  There 
is no state surcharge applied to smoke control systems.  Enter 0 on line F.  The total fee is 
determined by adding lines E & F, enter on line G. 
 
B. Base Permit Fee (See fee schedule)  0 (Minimum fee $75.40) 

C. Plan Review Fee (65% of base fee) 0 (Add only if plan is required) 

D. Flat Fee (If applicable or enter 0) $650.00 

E. Subtotal (Add lines B, C & D) $650.00 

F. State Surcharge (based on the amount on line E) $    0.00 
(Line E $1.00 or more, state surcharge = 0.0005 x 
amount on line E) 

G. Total Fee (line E + line F) $650.00 


