
1	 Amount paid for all taxable purchases on which the sellers did not charge 
and collect the appropriate amount of sales and/or local taxes  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  1  
Purchase price (included on line 1) for the following: 
a 	Aircraft .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . Purchase price   Aircraft N Number 

		  Snowmobile .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . Purchase price  
Watercraft  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . Purchase price  

		  All-Terrain Vehicle .  .  .  . Purchase price  
2	 Amount included in line 1 for items purchased for personal use from sellers that are not registered 
	 or required to be registered to collect Minnesota sales tax (e.g., out-of-state sellers)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  2  
3	 Purchases subject to use tax. If line 2 is $770 or less, subtract line 2 from line 1. 
	 If line 2 is more than $770, enter the amount from line 1  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  3  
4	 Minnesota general use tax:
	 Enter the total purchase price from line 3 . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .    X .06875 = 4  
5	 Liquor gross receipts use tax. If line 3 includes purchases of alcoholic beverages: 
	 Enter the purchase price . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  X .025 = 5  
6	 Local use taxes. If you live in a local tax area and did not pay local tax on 

your purchases, you owe local use tax (see instructions for more information) 
Local Tax	 Purchase Price	 Rate

a	 X	 =  6a  

	 b	 X	 =  6b  

	 c	 X	 =  6c  

	 d	 X	 =  6d  

	 e	 X	 =  6e  

	 f	 X	 =  6f  

	 g	 X	 =  6g  

	 h	 X	 =  6h  

	 i	 X	 =  6i   

Total local use taxes due (add lines 6a through 6i)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 6	

7	 Add lines 4, 5, and 6  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 7	
8	 Credit for general sales and local taxes already paid to Minnesota or to another 
	 state (see instructions). If no sales or local taxes were paid, enter zero  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 8 

9	 Total use tax due (subtract line 8 from line 7). If zero or less, enter zero  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   9	

10	 Penalty (see instructions)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   10 

11	 Interest (see instructions)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   11  

12	 Add lines 9, 10 and 11. This is the TOTAL AMOUNT DUE   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 12	

Individual Use Tax Return
UT1

You can file and pay use tax electronically on our website at www.revenue.state.mn.us. Read the instructions before completing this form.

(Rev. 1/18)

Your Name				 Social Security Number

Street Address				 Year Items Were Purchased

City 		 State 	 ZIP Code 	 County in which you live

(Make check payable to Minnesota Revenue.)

 I authorize the Minnesota Department 
of Revenue to discuss this tax return 
with the preparer.

I declare that this return is correct and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.

If you choose to file a paper return, complete this form and mail it with your check to:
Minnesota Revenue, Mail Station 1125, St. Paul, MN 55146-1125

Signature		 Date	 Daytime phone

Paid preparer’s signature	 Minnesota tax ID, SSN or PTIN	 Date	 Daytime phone



Instructions for Form UT1
What is use tax? 
Use tax is the counterpart of sales tax. 
You owe use tax when Minnesota sales 
tax is not charged on taxable items you 
buy, whether you buy them in Minnesota 
or outside the state. 

For example, if you travel to another state 
or country and bring back items that are 
normally taxed in Minnesota, you owe 
use tax on those purchases. The same 
applies if you buy taxable items through 
mail-order catalogs or the Internet and 
Minnesota sales tax is not charged on the 
purchase. 

Use tax does not apply to items currently 
tax exempt in Minnesota, such as cloth-
ing, prescription drugs for humans and 
most groceries.

If the items you’re buying are for your 
personal use (as opposed to buying items 
to use in a business), you can buy up to 
$770 worth of taxable goods during the 
calendar year without paying use tax. If, 
however, your purchases total more than 
$770, you must pay use tax on the entire 
amount. This exemption does not apply 
to businesses.

Minnesota’s use tax rate is the same as 
the state sales tax rate (6.875 percent). If 
you live in an area with one or more local 
use taxes, you owe local use tax on your 
purchases as well.

Watercraft, snowmobiles, ATVs and 
aircraft. Sales or use tax is due on all 
purchases of watercraft, snowmobiles, 
ATVs and aircraft, regardless if the item 
is registered with the Department of Pub-
lic Safety or Transportation (Aeronau-
tics). Tax is generally paid at the time the 
item is purchased. However, if tax was 
not paid at the time of purchase or when 
the item was registered, use Form UT1 to 
report use tax.

Alcoholic beverages. If you enter Min-
nesota with more than one liter of intoxi-
cating liquor or more than 288 ounces 
of malt liquor — on which you did not 
pay Minnesota tax — you may also be 
required to file and pay alcoholic beverage 
excise tax. For details, see Form LB58, 
Alcoholic Beverage Excise Tax Return.

Cigarettes products. When you buy 
cigarettes in Minnesota, the price you pay 
includes Minnesota Cigarette Excise Tax 
and the Cigarette Sales Tax. If you buy 
cigarettes outside the state and are not 
charged these Minnesota taxes, you may 
also need to file Form CT203, Cigarette 
Use Tax Return.

Tobacco products. When you buy 
tobacco products in Minnesota, the price 
you pay includes Minnesota Tobacco Tax. 
If you buy tobacco products outside the 
state and are not charged this Minnesota 
tax, you may need to file Form CT303, 
Tobacco Use Tax Return, in addition to 
Form UT1.

How to file and pay use tax
Individuals and businesses not required 
to have a Minnesota tax ID number 
If your purchases are for your personal 
use — or if you are not required to have 
a Minnesota tax ID number and your 
purchases were made for business use 
(i.e., your business doesn’t make taxable 
sales, doesn’t have employees and you 
file the business income under your Social 
Security number using federal Schedule 
C) — you must file and pay use tax using 
your Social Security number. 

To file and pay use tax, you may:

•	 Complete Form UT1 and mail it with 
your check by the due date to the ad-
dress provided at the bottom of the 
form, or

•	 File electronically. Go to our website 
at www.revenue.state.mn.us and click 
“For Individuals.” Click on “I need to 
file...” and then click on “Consumer 
Use Tax.” Follow the prompts to file 
and pay individual use tax.

Businesses
If you are a business and have or are 
required to have a Minnesota tax ID 
number, you must report and pay use 
tax electronically using our e-Services 
system. Do not file Form UT1.

Before you can file or pay use tax, you 
must have a Minnesota tax ID number. To 
register, go to www.revenue.state.mn.us 
and click “Register for a Minnesota tax 
ID” on the e-Services menu. 

If you don’t have Internet access, you 
can register by phone at 651-282-5225 or 
1-800-657-3605.

Due dates 
Individuals 
If your purchases subject to use tax were 
for personal use, you must file an annual 
return by April 15 of the following year. 

Businesses not required to have a 
Minnesota tax ID number 
If your purchases subject to use tax were 
for business use and total $18,500 or less 
for the year, file a return and pay the tax 
due by April 15 of the following year.

If your total purchases subject to use tax 
exceeds $18,500 before the end of the 
year, your return and payment are due 
by the 20th day following the end of the 
month in which your purchases exceeded 
$18,500.

If you do not file a use tax return 
voluntarily, you may be billed for the 
use tax you owe as information about 
purchases subject to use tax becomes 
available to us. Your bill will include pen-
alty and interest charges if applicable. 

Completing Form UT1
Line 1 
Enter the total amount paid for all taxable 
items you purchased on which the sellers 
did not charge and collect the appropriate 
amount of sales and/or local use taxes. 

Do not include any state sales and/or 
local taxes that were collected at the time 
of sale in the total on line 1. 

Line 1a 
Enter the amount you included on line 1 
for the purchase of aircraft, snowmobile, 
watercraft, and all-terrain vehicles.

For example, if you bought an aircraft 
and a watercraft and the seller did not 
collect sales tax, enter the purchase price 
for each on its corresponding line.

You cannot register or license an aircraft, 
snowmobile, watercraft, or all-terrain 
vehicle in Minnesota until you pay the 
correct sales or use tax or claim a valid 
exemption.  

Continued



Figure interest on the tax plus penalty from 
the due date until the date the total is paid.  
The interest rates for the following years 
are: 

2017 – 4%	 2015 – 3%	 2013 – 3%	
2016 – 3%	 2014 – 3%	 2012 – 3%

Use the following formula to figure interest:
Interest = 
(tax + penalty) × # of days late × interest rate ÷ 365

Form UT1 instructions (continued)

Use of information 
All information on your return is private 
by state law. It cannot be given to others 
without your consent, except to the Inter-
nal Revenue Service and to other states 
that guarantee the same privacy.  

Your name, address and Social Security 
number are required for identification. 
Information about your taxable purchases 
is required to determine your correct tax. 
We ask for your phone number so we can 
call you if we have a question.

Example:  
How to figure penalty and interest
You owe $130 in use tax for purchases made in 
2015. The due date for filing a return and pay-
ing use tax is April 15, 2016.

You file Form UT1 and make your payment on 
March 15, 2017 (334 total days late).

Your unpaid tax = $130.00

Penalties
Late-payment penalty for  
more than 60 days late (15%) 	 =	 $19.50

Late-filing penalty (5%) 	 =	 $6.50
Enter on line 10  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $26.00

Interest (using formula):
Number of days late in 2016 = 260
Interest rate for 2016 = 3% (.03)

Number of days late in 2017 = 74
Interest rate for 2017 = 3% (.03)

($130 + $26)  × 260  × .03 ÷ 365 =  .  .  .  .  . $3.33
($130 + $26)  ×   74  × .03 ÷ 365 = . .  .  .  .  .      .95
Enter on line 11  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $4.28

Line 2 
Of the amount on line 1, determine the 
amount you paid to purchase items for 
personal use from out-of-state sellers or 
other sellers that are not required to col-
lect Minnesota sales tax. 

For example, if you bought taxable items 
over the Internet, by mail order, or from 
a shopping channel, and the seller did 
not collect Minnesota sales tax, enter the 
purchase price on line 2. Also include 
any taxable purchases you made from an 
out-of-state seller that properly collected 
another state’s sales tax at a rate lower 
than Minnesota’s. 

Do not include any state sales and/or 
local taxes that were collected at the time 
of sale. 

Line 3 
If line 2 is $770 or less for the year, your 
personal-use purchases are exempt from 
use tax. Subtract line 2 from line 1 and 
enter the result on line 3.

If line 2 is more than $770, you must 
pay use tax on your total personal-use 
purchases. Enter the amount from line 1 
on line 3.

Line 4
Minnesota’s general state sales tax rate is 
6.875 percent. Enter the amount from line 
3 and calculate general rate sales tax due. 

Line 5 
Purchases of alcoholic beverages are 
taxed at a rate 2.5 percent higher than the 
general sales tax rate. Multiply your total 
purchases of alcoholic beverages includ-
ed in line 3 by 2.5 percent. 

Line 6 
If you live in certain areas, you also owe 
local use tax on your purchases. Refer to 
the Local Use Tax Rate Chart on the last 
page of these instructions for a full list.

Note: You may owe multiple local use 
taxes on your purchases. To correctly 
report your use taxes, you must enter the 
same purchase price for each applicable 
tax rate.

Line 8
You are allowed a credit for any general 
sales and/or local taxes paid on the pur-
chases to Minnesota or to another state. 
The credit is limited to the 6.875 percent 
general sales tax rate charged by Minne-
sota, plus any applicable local taxes. 

Examples: 

•	 If you paid the correct amount of Min-
nesota sales tax, but not the correct lo-
cal tax, you may deduct the Minnesota 
sales tax paid when determining the 
use tax due on your purchases.

•	 If you paid sales tax to another state at 
a rate lower than Minnesota’s rate, fill 
in the amount you paid on line 8. If the 
other state’s rate is the same or higher, 
enter the amount equal to the 6.875 
percent rate. 

You cannot claim a credit for more than 
the correct amount of sales and local 
taxes you would have paid had you made 
the purchases in the city or county in which 
you live. 

You are not allowed credit for customs 
duty charges or tax paid to other coun-
tries.

Lines 10 and 11
If you don’t pay the use tax you owe on 
time, you must pay penalty and interest. 
If your payment is 1 to 30 days late, the 
penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid tax; 31 to 
60 days late, 10 percent; more than 60 days 
late, 15 percent. If you also don’t file your 
return on time, add an additional 5 percent 
to the above penalty.

Information and forms
Website:	www.revenue.state.mn.us 
Phone:	 651-296‑6181 or 1-800-657-3777
Email:	 SalesUse.tax@state.mn.us

This information is available in alternate 
formats.



City/County	    Rate	    Begin date

Albert Lea 0.5% 04/01/2006
Anoka County Transit 0.25% 10/01/2017
Austin 0.5% 04/01/2007
Baxter 0.5% 10/01/2006
Becker County Transit 0.5% 07/01/2014
Beltrami County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2014
Bemidji 0.5% 01/01/2006
Blue Earth County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2016
Brainerd 0.5% 04/01/2007
Brown County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2016
Carlton County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2015
Carver County Transit 0.5% 10/01/2017
Cass County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2016
Chisago County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2016
Clay County Transit 0.25% 10/01/2017
Clearwater 0.5% 10/01/2008
Cloquet 0.5% 04/01/2013
Cook County 1.0% 04/01/2010
Cook County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2017
Crow Wing County 
Transit

0.5% 04/01/2016

Dakota County Transit 0.25% 10/01/2017
Douglas County Transit 0.5% 10/01/2014
Duluth 1.0% 01/01/2006

East Grand Forks 1.0% 01/01/2018

Fairmont 0.5% 10/01/2017
Fergus Falls 0.5% 01/01/2012 to 12/31/16

0.5% 01/01/2018
Fillmore County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2015
Freeborn County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2016
GKWMLL Sanitary Dis-
trict (1)

1.0% 01/01/2018

Hennepin County 0.15% 01/01/2007
Hennepin County Transit 0.5% 10/01/2017
Hermantown 0.5% 01/01/2000 to 03/31/2013

1.0% 04/01/2013
Hubbard County Transit 0.5% 07/01/2015
Hutchinson 0.5% 01/01/2012
Lake County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2017
Lanesboro 0.5% 01/01/2012
Lyon County Transit 0.5% 10/01/2015
Mankato 0.5% 01/01/2000
Marshall 0.5% 04/01/2013
Medford 0.5% 04/01/2013
Mille Lacs County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2017
Minneapolis 0.5% 02/01/1987

Local Use Tax Rate Chart

Moose Lake 0.5% 10/01/2017
Morrison County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2018
Mower County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2018
New London 0.5% 10/01/2017
New Ulm 0.5% 04/01/2001
Nicollet County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2018
North Mankato 0.5% 10/01/2008
Olmsted County Transit 0.25% 01/01/2014 to 06/30/2017

0.5% 07/01/2017
Otter Tail County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2016
Pine County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2017
Polk County Transit 0.25% 01/01/2018
Proctor 0.5% 04/01/2000 to 09/30/2017

1.0% 10/01/2017
Ramsey County Transit 0.5% 10/01/2017
Rice County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2014
Rochester 0.5% 01/01/1993 to 12/31/2015

0.75% 01/01/2016
St. Cloud Area (2) 0.5% 01/01/2003
St. Louis County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2015
St. Paul 0.5% 01/01/2000
Scott County Transit 0.5% 10/01/2015
Spicer 0.5% 10/01/2017
Stearns County Transit 0.25% 01/01/2018
Steele County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2015
Todd County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2015
Transit Improvement (3) 0.25% 07/01/2008 to 09/30/2017
Two Harbors 0.5% 04/01/1999
Wabasha County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2016
Wadena County Transit 0.5% 04/01/2014
Walker 1.5% 01/01/2018
Washington County 
Transit

0.25% 10/01/2017

Winona County Transit 0.5% 01/01/2017
Worthington 0.5% 04/01/2009
Wright County Transit 0.5% 10/01/2017

(1) Garrison, Kathio, West Mille Lacs
(2) Includes St. Cloud, Sartell, Sauk Rapids, St. Augusta, 

St. Joseph, and Waite Park
(3) Included the counties of Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, 

Ramsey, and Washington

* For more information, see Fact Sheet 164, Local Sales 
and Use Taxes

City/County	 Rate	 Begin date
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