

Minneapolis Fire Inspection Services Fire Alarm and Communications Systems Permit and Drawing Requirements

Permits Required

A permit is required when work involves the installation, replacement, removal, or exchange of components of a fire safety system. A permit is NOT required to inspect, test or perform preventive maintenance.

Review Required

Drawings are required for review for new installations, relocation of devices, addition of devices, etc. Three sets of drawings are required for FIS use, up to two additional sets will be reviewed and returned to the contractor.

License Required

Companies or individuals who work on fire alarm and communications systems are required to be licensed by the State of Minnesota as an "Electrician" or as a "Low Voltage Contractor". System designers are to be NICET Level 3 Certified or be factory trained and certified in fire alarm system design.

Design and Installation Standards

The design is to comply with the Minnesota State Fire Code (MSFC), applicable NFPA Standards (or other FIS approved standards) and FIS Policies.

Drawing Qualities and Required Information

- Provide all the information that is required by NFPA Standards.
- Plans of fire detection systems for preaction and deluge sprinkler systems are to be submitted with the plans for those sprinkler systems.
- Incomplete or inaccurate submittals will be rejected and will result in time delays.

Permit Application

- The "Fire Safety Systems Permit Form" must be completely filled out and submitted.
- The permit fee is to accompany the application.
- The permit fee is based on the contract cost* (see the "Fire Safety Systems Fee Schedule") plus the plan review fee and the State surcharge.
- The FIS permit covers low voltage wiring and devices only. The connection from the buildings power supply to the panel, etc is covered by a permit issued by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, Electrical licensing and Inspections at 651-284-5095 or <u>www.electricity.state.mn.us</u>

Note: The contract cost is the total price paid by the property owner and includes all material, labor, overhead, taxes, profit, etc.

Example of Fee Section of Permit Application

Total contract cost of the project is \$46,000. The base fee for \$46,000 contract cost = \$999.80 (from the fee schedule) enter on line B. \$999.80 x 65% = \$649.87 plan review fee, enter on line C. There is no flat fee for fire suppression systems. Enter 0 on line D. Add lines B, C & D to determine the subtotal fee, enter on line E. Determine the State surcharge (based on the contract cost) and enter on line F. The total fee is determined by adding lines E & F, enter on line G.

В.	Base Permit Fee (See fee schedule)	\$999.80 (Minimum fee \$75.40)
C.	Plan Review Fee (65% of base fee)	\$649.87 (Add only if plan is required)
D.	Flat Fee (If applicable or enter 0)	0
Ε.	Subtotal (Add lines B, C & D)	\$1,649.67
F.	State Surcharge (based on the contract cost)	\$23.00
	(If contract cost is \$1.00 to \$1,000,000.00, state surcharge =0.0005 X the contract cost) (If contract cost is \$1,000,000.01 or greater, please contact FIS staff for surcharge cost)	
G.	Total Fee (line E + line F)	\$1,672.67