Pedestrian Advisory Committee members

These are the names of the current PAC members.


The Pedestrian Advisory Committee is comprised of 15 voting members who live or own a business in the City and who have an interest in promoting walking and improving the pedestrian environment in Minneapolis.

The voting membership as a whole is expected to represent the following perspectives on pedestrian issues:

Specific pedestrian groups, such as

  • people with disabilities
  • senior citizens
  • parents or people who work with children and
  • transit riders

Those who care about walking issues, such as

  • property owners
  • neighborhood groups
  • business owners and
  • business associations

People with relevant technical expertise, such as

  • traffic safety,
  • urban design, and
  • public health;
  • people representing diverse social, cultural and economic groups in the City; and
  • people representing distinct geographic areas of the City

Including at least one member from each of the five sectors of the City

  • Downtown
  • East
  • North
  • South
  • Southwest

As defined in this Minneapolis map

The Committee also includes non-voting members from City Departments and partner agencies with an interest in and impact on pedestrian issues to provide expertise on pedestrian issues and to serve as a liaison between the Committee and City departments and partner agencies.

Voting members are appointed by the City Council through the open appointments process for two-year terms. Eight voting members are appointed in odd years, and seven voting members are appointed in even years; terms begin on July 1.

For more information or to apply to serve on this committee, visit the Boards & Commissions section

Applications may be submitted at any time and will be kept on file for 12 months.

Current members

Voting members

Abigail Johnson, Chair

Christopher Hoffer, Vice-Chair

Neal Baxter, Secretary

Aaron Berger

Barbara Olson

Julia Curran

Donna Hemp

Matt Steinrueck

Sarah Goodell

Tamir Mohamud

Peter Vader  

Adelheid Koski

Jim Welsch

Christopher Ross

Paul St. Martin

Non-voting members

Emily Kettell, Hennepin County 
Sonja Burseth, Metro Transit
Heidi Schallberg, Metropolitan Council
Suzanne Murphy, Minneapolis City Council
Rattana Sengsoulichanh, Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development Department 
Heather Gillich, Minneapolis Department Health and Family Support 
Kjensmo Walker, Minnesota Department of Transportation 
Carrie Christensen, Minneapolis Parks and Recreation 
Julie Danzl, Minneapolis Public Schools

Eric Bauer, University of Minnesota
Matthew Dyrdahl, Minneapolis Public Works Department

Committee Staff:

Chris Kartheiser

Millicent Flowers

Request accessible format

If you need help with this information, please email 311, or call 311 or 612-673-3000.

Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

Contact us

Public Works


City Hall
350 S. 5th St., Room 203
Minneapolis, MN 55415
Office hours

Open to the Public by Appointment